FACT: Alexandria Jimi Lee was too distracted by the peeling wall paint to be creeped out by the fact that she was walking around in an abandoned asylum.

Or maybe it was because the building wasn’t actually that creepy in the first place. 

I was recently clearing out some pictures out of my photo library when I happened to stumble across this funny album. These pictures are from a few years back during winter break my first year of college. Everyone was back for the holidays and my friend’s photography project was a good excuse to wrangle our group together. Apparently, there was an abandoned building not too far away that made for some great photos, so off we went on a cold but sunny January morning.

DSC_0168

This particular abandoned building was previously an asylum but now just sits on a college campus next to a puppetry school. Sounds creepy right? Well maybe it would’ve been scarier if we went at night. In reality, it was just a really old building that was falling apart. Dust and asbestos were more of a worry than any vengeful spirits. But I did find out later that this place was featured on Syfy’s Paranormal Witness.

While my friend was working on her project, I snapped some photos of my own. Old decrepit buildings really do make for interesting photographs and I found myself particularly fascinated by the texture of the walls. The way the paint was peeling off almost made them look like tree bark.

DSC_0148DSC_0141

DSC_0139

DSC_0150Everything was pretty flaky.

DSC_0149DSC_0169This was the eeriest photo in the batch. But still, no unexplained shadows or floating orbs.

DSC_0158Here is the attic:

DSC_0163

And then us fooling around with light photography in the basement:

DSC_0176 DSC_0177 DSC_0180 DSC_0182  DSC_0185 DSC_0186 DSC_0188 DSC_0189 DSC_0190 DSC_0191 DSC_0192 DSC_0193  DSC_0201 DSC_0203 DSC_0204 DSC_0206 DSC_0207 DSC_0208 DSC_0209 DSC_0210

All in all, it was a fun trip with no unexplained occurrences, which I am totally fine with.

Leave a comment